Home #51 - Niagara Falls Community Build (2016)

Ali  Family    N F  Caledonia

A brand new Habitat for Humanity house will be built this summer in Niagara Falls. This Habitat house will become a new home to a local family of 10, including 8 children!

The family that will call this house a home is the Ali family.  Abdulrazaq and Fadumo made the courageous decision to move to Canada six years ago from Somalia due to the unrest in the country and their desire to raise their children in a safe and secure environment.  

Abdulrazaq and Fadumo have dreamed of owning their own home for years. They see homeownership as providing a secure and safe place for their family, so their children can focus on their studies. They also feel that it is important for their children to work for high marks in school as education will prove to be valuable for their future.

As a family it is important to them that they take care of each other. “When my children are older,” Abdulrazaq says, “I want them to look back and see that we did as much as we could for their future.”

The children are all excited to have a basement and back yard to play in! Abdulrazaq is looking forward to working alongside donors and volunteers building a new future for their family.

This house will be built with the help of individuals and community businesses.

Adopt-a-Build-Day Schedule

Below is the Adopt-a-Day schedule for the Niagara Falls build. Please note that tasks cannot be guaranteed and are subject to change. To reserve your team’s build day, please contact Karen Dolyniuk at 905-685-7395 x205 or karen@habitatnigara.ca.

CLICK HERE TO SET UP YOUR ONLINE PERSONAL FUNDRAISING PAGE OR TO PLEDGE A PARTICIPANT! 

If you would like to collect donations in person instead of online, please download a pledge form.

Date Task # of Volunteers
Reserved
Saturday, June 25 Main Floor Framing WOMEN BUILD 6 - 8 Niagara Girls Book Club
Monday, June 27 Framing Blitz  15 - 20 (2 groups) RBC Wealth Management
Tuesday, June 28 Basement Framing 6 - 8 Diamond Estates Winery
Wednesday, June 29 Basement Framing 6 - 8 Niagara Falls Fire Department
Thursday, June 30 Basement Framing 6 - 8 Verge Insurance Group
Monday, July 11 Deck 6 - 8 Joey's Restaurant - St.Catharines
Wednesday, July 13 Deck 6 - 8 Habitat Niagara Board & Staff 
Thursday, July 14 Deck 6 - 8 City of Niagara Falls
Tuesday, July 19 Insulation 6 - 8 Habitat Niagara Summer Students
Wednesday, July 20 Insulation 6 - 8 Habitat Niagara Family
Friday, August 12 Painting 6 - 8 Habitat Niagara Family
Monday, August 15 Painting 6 - 8 Habitat Niagara Board & Staff
Tuesday, August 16 Painting 6 - 8 Genworth Canada
Wednesday, August 17 Painting 6 - 8 Ontario Power Generation
Thursday, August 18 Painting WOMEN BUILD 6 - 8 Niagara Casinos
Tuesday, August 23 Flooring 6 - 8 Travelodge by the Falls
Wednesday, August 24 Flooring 6 - 8 Royal LePage
Thursday, August 25 Flooring 6 - 8 Meridian
Wednesday, August 31 Trim 6 - 8 Great Wolf Lodge Niagara
Thursday, September 1 Trim 6 - 8 Niagara Falls Tourism
Thursday, September 8 Trim 6 - 8 Genworth Canada
Friday, September 9 Trim 6 - 8 Home Depot Niagara Falls
Tuesday, September 13 Finish  6 - 8 Habitat Family
Friday, September 16 Landscaping 8 - 10

Home Depot Niagara Falls

Monday, September 19 Cleaning 6-8 Habitat Family

 

Thank you!  Habitat would like to thank our major sponsors and partners for their generous support and contributions to this renovation build!

Sponsors and partners to date: Niagara Regional Housing, City of Niagara Falls, Canada Mortgage & Housing Corporation, Niagara Region, Cotton Inc, Reliance Home Comfort, Walker Industries, Baron Roofing & Siding, Artcraft Kitchens,

Special thanks to the businesses for providing meals to our work-site volunteers: Retired Teachers of Ontario Disctict 14,Grapeview Free Methodist Church, Chippawa Presbyterian Church, Yanks Bar and Grill, McDonald's Restaurants (Lundy's Lane, Thorold Stone Rd., Oakwood Dr.) St.Patrick's Roman Catholic Church (N.Falls), Metro, Jumbo Pizza & Wings, Twice the Deal Pizza

 

See More Photos See All Past Builds
ownership-house